Marin Hillside: Painting

IMG_8801IMG_8650

IMG_8660

I started this oil painting today. It is actually the 4th painting I made of this hillside. The first one I sold. The next two were  overworked. This one is coming out just right.

When I visited my cousins Mary Sue and Dale in Marin last August, they pointed to the hillside their home faces, and said “We would love to commission you to paint the hillside with the little church on it”. I was attracted to the idea that the houses are swallowing up the once vacant hillside, somehow dwarfing the importance of religion.

I love painting water- actually, almost every painting I make has water in it. There are about 100 homes on this hillside which makes it very challenging to design and paintIMG_8661

Leave a Reply

